top of page

Proving French Language Ability - Test d'Evaluation Du Français - TEF/TEFaQ

The TEF, or Test d'Evaluation du Français, is a language test that is used to assess the level of French comprehension and expression skills in people who are not native French speakers.

This test can be used for Quebec immigration purposes and is the only French language examination accepted for the Federal Skilled Worker Program.

About the TEF

The TEF consists of three compulsory sections and two optional sections:

TEF Compulsory Sections

TEF Optional Sections

About the TEFaQ

The TEFaQ, or Test d'Evaluation du français adapté pour le Québec, is an examination intended for people who need proof of French proficiency specifically for Quebec immigration. While the TEFaQ is more targeted to Quebec immigration, applicants may instead choose to take the TEF or any other French language test approved by the government of Quebec.

The TEF consists of four sections: reading, listening, speaking, writing.

How the TEF and TEFaQ are graded according to the Quebec Skilled Worker Program

TEFaQ Listening Score

TEFaQ Listening Score

*Cadre européen commun de référence pour les langues

bottom of page