top of page

Proving French Language Ability - Diplôme d'études en langue française - DELF/DALF

The DELF (Diplôme d'études en langue française) and the DALF (Diplôme approfondi de langue française) are French language examinations that consist of six diplomas.

These diplomas are awarded by the French Ministry of Education and certify a candidate's level of French proficiency.

What is the difference between the DELF and DALF?

The DELF examinations are taken at four individual levels: A1 and A2 (Beginner), B1 and B2 (Intermediate). The DALF examinations are taken at two individual levels: C1 and C2 (Advanced). Each examination is independent, meaning a candidate can register for the examination at whichever level they choose. Each examination evaluates French language abilities in listening, reading, writing and speaking, although only the Listening and Speaking modules are required for Quebec immigration.

About the DELF/DALF exam

Listening Abilities

Speaking Abilities

Listening / Speaking Abilities

How the DELF/DALF is graded according to the Quebec Skilled Worker Program

bottom of page